5, 4, 3, 2, 1…

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Multiple count downs later and we finally saw fireworks at the V&A Waterfront in Cape Town… I suppose that’s what you get for not synchronizing your watches! But hey it was all in good fun and most people were too drunk to care anyway! However they all behaved themselves, thanks to the couple of hundreds of policemen who were patrolling the Waterfront, so a big thumbs-up to them!  

Do you know who also started 2011 with a bang? BATH RUGBY! Finally after a rather lengthy losing streak they came back from a score of 17-9 (at half time) to beat the London Irish 25-24. London Irish fans will argue that they outscored the visitors 3 tries to 1. However in the words of Naas Botha, “look at the scoreboard.” Bath captain, Luke Watson who was finally back in action lead by example and as a reward for his efforts, he received the Man of the Match award.

Bath fans seem to be more relieved than anything else. During the rather disastrous first half, some were even saying they should bench the entire team and call up some “rugby players.” A little harsh but as a Stormers supporter, I know all about the intensity and the desperate need for a victory.

That brings me for my one wish for 2011. Please boys, win a cup! Let’s face it: The Stormers have NEVER won a trophy and Western Province last won the Currie Cup when I was in grade 2… and I am matriculating this year. So come on guys, before I graduate and grow up and leave Cape Town! Something, anything, everything. It still perplexes my parents as to why the Newlands faithful and I return week after week, defeat after defeat but it’s just incase, if that’s the year they do it, you don’t want to miss out.

However if I have to hear one more silver lining speech from Allister Coetzee or Tobie Titus, I am honestly going to smack them with my flag… repeatedly. Nobody cares if you made the final. At the end of the day it’s all about the silverware and quite frankly we haven’t won a trophy in such a long time, I wouldn’t be surprised if nobody knows where the cabinet is!

So come on you DHL Stormers! (eish almost as bad as the Mr Price Sharks). No more excuses! 2011 make it your year!! If our junior teams can do it, there is no reason our senior boys can’t!

So with that, Bath, Stormers, WP… good luck! Your fans are expecting a lot from you this year! And on a more personal note, please cross your fingers for me, I start applying to universities this year! So studies has to come first. Not to worry, I won’t leave you out in the cold…. remember this is to help with my creative writing! 😉

 Sarah

Leave a comment