Breaking the Stereotype

By: Sarah Boomgaard

Rugby has always been thought to be a “man’s” sport and the only reason a girl would ever bother to watch a match would be because she fancies one of the players. However more and more ladies are becoming passionate about the game and it has nothing to do with how “cute” the players are. The ladies who are mad about rugby are often thought to be quite manly themselves, and I have, on many occasions, been told that I don’t “look like the kind of girl who would like rugby.” The fact that people still think that only jocks or tomboys are the only girls who can appreciate the game is rather sad. So let me introduce you to a few of my fellow maul-loving, try-worshiping and tackle-admiring ladies who are adamant on breaking the stereotype.

Name? 

Jean-Mare Bruwer

 Who do you support? 

 Stormers

 Tell us a bit about yourself. 

I’m 23, currently studying towards my BBA Degree. Typical Scorpio. I go with the flow & sarcasm is my second language

How did you become involved with rugby? 

I was born into a rugby mad family. We had a suite on the Jan Pickard stand for quite some time, so Newlands pretty much became my second home.

Who’s your favourite player?  

Eben Etzebeth

 What’s your favourite part of the game? 

Whenever Gio Aplon darts down the touch line to score one of those magical tries.

 If you were appointed as the Springbok coach, what is the first thing that you would do?  

I would get rid of certain senior players who pasted their expiry date, and give the up and coming youngsters a chance to prove themselves on an international level. 

 

Name? 

Michelle McLeod 

Who do you support? 

 Staunch Stormers, WP and Springbok supporter

Tell us a bit about yourself. 

I moved to SA in 1967 with my Folsom from England. I have been here 45 years and proudly south African. Turning 50 on 31 May. I have two sons who are 27 and 24.  Moms pride and joy. My dad played rugby league in England and when we moved here was not allowed to play union except socially. He coach my primary school team who went from bottom of log to top of log in 2 years.

How did you become involved with rugby? 

I went to my first fame at Newlands when I was 6 years old.  I have a crazy sister, Debbie who is passionate about rugby.  We don’t miss a home game and tend to travel to a few away games a year. Hubby and other males get left at home. Girls who love rugby only. 

Went to the RWC in 1999, 2007 and will be going to the 2015. Saving account started a year ago.  Also love 7′s and have been to George on numerous occasions as well as hong kong, Dubai and of course PE last year.   Love all forms of rugby.  Not crazy about women’s rugby.

Club Newlands is an awesome way for rugby people to meet.  We were one of the first members.  Love the club. 

Who’s your favourite player?  

So many. Currently I love Jean de Villiers.  Young Kitshoff and Eben  wow. Definitely future books. Joe Pietersen  sex on legs.  I love all our boys at Newlands. Steven Hunt is doing so well with the seven squad.  Ex WP under  21.  And of course Paul Delport who will stop any where in the world to greet us. Duane Vermeulen – so unlucky with injuries.  Great young man.  Schalk Burger – he could probably tell you about us!!!!!

What’s your favourite part of the game? 

Favorite part of the game-   Try time!!!  Full time! Social afterwards discussing and debating what had just happened!  Love to watch riming rugby.  When the ball swings and the boys support each other on the field and off!

If you were appointed as the Springbok coach, what is the first thing that you would do?  

Leave him alone for now.  We have to build a team for the next world cup. No old men….. They have retired.  Give youngster a chance and start to build squad with new young blood. We are going to win some and lose many in the building of a new squad,  I think the coach should be allowed to prove himself before I judge him.  Will discuss that point in a year!   

Name?  

Chrisna Coetzee (left)

Who do you support?  

Stormers, Province, Boks

Tell us about yourself? 

 I am a sports nut… Grew up in a sports crazy family, so watching any kind of sport is the way that we bond,   whether rugby, cricket, F1, golf, and even soccer; we generally have a good time watching!

How did you become involved with rugby?

My brother went to Paul Roos. (That’s almost) enough said. I have very vivid memories of going to the Makotter fields to watch his games. I am the only one, I am almost certain of this, who understands the rules, knows what is happening when the ref moves his arms in a certain way… It’s always fun explaining these things to guys and have them look at me like I’m an alien or something! They always seem to be so shocked that a girl would be able to understand the intricacies of rugby!

Who is your favourite player?

Bash- Peter Grant. He’s really talented, and I met him last year and he really does have the cutest dimples! ;)

What’s your favourite part of the game?

Everything, from the stats to the play by play before and after the game, the tactics and the action! I. Love. Rugby. That is all.  

If you were appointed as the Springbok coach, what is the first thing that you would do?

Go to parliament; tell them to butt out of sport… Or realistically, try to get more overseas players involved somehow.

Name?

Lea-Ann van der Merwe

Who do you support?

Sharks

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m 19 and a proud Matie Student. I grew up in Durbanville and have a younger brother who ironically doesn’t like rugby at all. I did lots of different sports growing up, including figure skating, gymnastics and netball. I’ve also been singing since I was 11. I would actually love to sing the national anthem for one of the Boks’ games! ;)

How did you become involved with rugby?

I grew up with boys, so I guess it was inevitable that I would grow up to love rugby.  When I was younger my friends and I used to toss the ball about a bit, but I never really had the patience to sit down and watch a full game. When the 2007 World Cup Final came around, I decided I couldn’t miss the game as South Africa was playing. I hadn’t really had anything to do with rugby in a couple of years, but the final was all it took to get me in front of my TV all weekend every weekend.

Who’s your favourite player?

Francois Steyn, Bismarck Du Plessis, Willem Alberts and Patrick Lambie.

 What’s your favourite part of the game?

Winning? (laughs) I guess the best part would be when we play an evenly-matched team. Yeah, it’s good to be able to say beforehand that you’re relatively sure you will win, but it gets a bit boring watching games against minnows. Watching a good running match where the ball is frequently spread to the wings is always exciting.

If you were appointed as the Springbok coach, what is the first thing that you would do?

I guess I would love to be able to share the way I see rugby with the national team. A big part of that is team work. You can have the best individual players on the planet but that doesn’t necessarily mean you will have a good team. So the first thing I would do would be to figure out the best way to make the best group of guys into an absolutely unbeatable team. If you have a group of guys who totally believe in each other and will bend over backwards for one another, you have guys that will play not just for themselves, but for the other 14 men on the field as well. 

Name?  

Raihaanah Jonson

Who do you support?  

Stormers, Western Province and the Springboks

Tell us a bit about yourself.  

I’m studying at UCT (a BSC), not very sure what I want to do with it yet . I don’t do sport anymore but I used to do karate, if I had the time I’d love to go back and do it. I have two siblings both older than me… We are a Stormers household J. I like any kind of music that speaks to me.

How did you become involved with rugby?  

I never was really interested in rugby. But then one day my friend took me to a game at Newlands. I immediately fell in love with the game and the Stormers. Ever since that first game at Newlands stadium, I’ve been a diehard Stormers fan.

Who’s your favourite player?  

Joe Pietersen and Peter Grant

What’s your favourite part of the game?

Definitely the unity you feel during the game. Especially at Newlands. I like the feeling of actually being part of a team. And of not just wanting our team to win all the time but also just wanting them (the players) to succeed.

If you were appointed as the Springbok coach, what is the first thing that you would do?  

I would make sure that players who are really doing well get chosen for the Springbok team. Bash for Boks!

2 thoughts on “Breaking the Stereotype

  1. Roegshaana Adams says:

    Stormers for life! WP jou leka ding! Hier die boke! Whoop whoop

  2. Jennifer-Joy says:

    i was one of the lady rugga contestants and that was da best experience ever. having to stand in a queue for more than 6-8 hrs was worthit… i met the most amazing bunch of ladies dat knew their rugby…i am a Cape colored girl and when men start talkin rugby and i chip in i can just see their jaws drop esp da fact dat i know wht im talking bout.

Leave a Reply

